class="post-template-default single single-post postid-16005 single-format-standard wp-custom-logo wp-embed-responsive aft-default-mode aft-sticky-sidebar aft-hide-comment-count-in-list aft-hide-minutes-read-in-list aft-hide-date-author-in-list default-content-layout single-content-mode-default align-content-left">
June 6, 2023


Latest News Portal

IPL 2023 MI vs LSG Eliminator: Mumbai knockout Lucknow by 81 runs; keeps up hope for their sixth IPL title

2 min read

Mumbai Indians (MI) knocked out Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) from the IPL by 81 runs in the Eliminator match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Cameron Green and Suryakumar Yadav ensured that MI reach a good score of 182 and then Akash Madhwal-led bowling restricted LSG to 101 runs.

After winning the toss, MI chose to bat first and despite not getting a good start, the middle order of the team played some beautiful shots. LSG bowlers fought back with some back-to-back wickets, and the MI innings was slowed down.

LSG’s start was similar to MI and the openers went back to the pavilion early in the game. But, except for Marcus Stoinis no player could not do anything significant for the team. Akash Madhwal and Piyush Chawla kept the pressure on LSG batters and the wickets kept falling.


MI innings: 

Rohit Sharma (11) and Ishan Kishan (15) started well and played some beautiful boundaries. But, Naveen-ul-Haq and Yash Thakur striked together and the openers were back in the pavilion. Cameron Green and Suryakumar Yadav entered the grounds to recover from the early loss.

Both Cameron Green (41) and Suryakumar Yadav (33) started their attack against LSG bowlers and the cheer was back to the MI camp. With some magnificent fours and enthralling sixes, Green and Yadav took the team beyond 100 runs.

But, then by taking back-to-back, wickets Naveen-ul-Haq derailed the batting of MI sending both Green and Yadav back to the dugout. Tilak Verma (26) and Tim David (13), both fresh players started a cautious innings for MI. But, Yash Thakur dismissed explosive Tim David at a very sensitive note and Nehal Wadhera (23) came in as impact player. 

Soon, Naveen-ul-Haq dismissed Tilak Verma and in the next over only Mohsin Khan took out Chris Jordan (4). The MI innings was just struggling now and finally, the innings was over at the score of 182/8. 


LSG innings:

Chasing 182, LSG didn’t have the best start, and opener Prerak Mankad (3) was dismissed in the second over. In the next two overs, Kyle Mayers (18) played some boundaries but Chris Jordan took him out during the fourth over and it was almost the same start as the MI.

Skipper Krunal Pandya (8) and Marcus Stoinis then took the responsibility of the chase, but Piyush Chawla had something else in mind and Krunal Pandya walked back to the dugout. LSG camp sent Ayush Badoni (1) with much hope, but Akash Madhwal took back-to-back wickets and dismissed Badoni and Nicholas Pooran (0).

MI bowlers were in complete control now and LSG was looking at Marcus Stoinis (40) as their only hope, but he was also dismissed in a silly runout. The following batters fell like a pack of cards and finally the team of LSG was all-out at the score of 101.


Catch all the Sports News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *